Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Question about CIM

TeresaRB
2009-01-21, 6:47pm
Someone (very nice) sent me some CIM Trans. Saphire. To date I've only used Effetre 104, some frits and some Double Helix Triton. Arrow Springs is fantastic for giving information on "how to" with all the different glass. But I can't find anything on their site about CIM.

So here I am...asking all you very experienced people...what type of flame do you work this glass in...annealing temps etc. Can anyone help?

Natsprat
2009-01-21, 7:30pm
Well I am not the most learned person on here - still a bit of newby really.

But.... I have been using CIM COE104 for the last six months and basically just do the same thing as I do with my plain old Moretti and Effetre. I use it in exactly the same way and garage it and anneal it the same way too. It doesn't seem to be tricky like the fancy silver (DH) and striking glasses, but then again I have not used all the colours as they are a little bit hard to get hold of over here in Australia.

Hades black is the loveliest solid black I have used and doesn't seem to go trans even in thin stringer form. I really like the Gelly's Sty Pink too and keep meaning to order a lovely big sample lot of each rod, but am scared......... scared that I will love them all and break the bank account completely!

Have you tried the CIM website for tech stuff?

Nat

Kevan
2009-01-21, 7:31pm
It's not a reactive glass, it's pretty much wysiwyg with CIM. Nice colors that stay true and aren't colors the Italians have.

Hayley
2009-01-21, 7:36pm
Arrow Spring doesn't carry CIM, yet.

Here is the website link for CIM:

http://www.creationismessy.com/

Carolyn M
2009-01-21, 7:51pm
CIM Sapphire has been problem free for me. I treat it like Effetre

Diane Gates
2009-01-23, 12:43pm