Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Oxycon problems; any ideas?

clan tabby
2009-10-28, 11:05pm
Ok, it took me a while to figure this out because I'm a newbie & am just clueless a lot of the time. I got my carport studio set up in mid-August. I had a new Cricket torch, propane & an Ex-15 scratch'n'dent oxycon from ABR Imagery. Later I got another oxycon for backup.

After a bit I began to wonder why people thought a Cricket was such a hot torch. What did they use before? A lighter? In order to get a flame hot enough to do much of anything I needed to nudge up the propane. I thought, well, maybe that's normal for a Cricket. I used a Mini cc at the open studio I went to & that torch worked a whole lot hotter than the Cricket.

A couple of weeks ago I started realizing there was something else wrong, not me, not the Cricket. The studio owner let me take home the Mini cc to try it out on my set-up. I know it works really well on an old funky oxycon because one Sunday the O2 tanks ran dry & I used the oxycon. Well, at my place it barely sputtered.

Ross at ABR suggested I take off the flashback arrestor, so I did, but didn't help much, if at all. So - anyone have any ideas? Both oxycons act exactly the same. I even tried switching to the outlet that my kiln runs from, but no change. They sound fine, but if a 15-oxycon can't run a Cricket, something is very much amiss. I'm hoping someone has some ideas I haven't thought of.

2xMI
2009-10-29, 4:39am
I think you're saying you have 2 oxycons, and neither one will power either of the torches you've tried them with? It sounds like it might be the hose, or whatever you're using to attach the hose to the oxycon(s). Have you tried swapping out the coupling device? Are you using quick connects? Have you tried blowing out the hose to make sure there's no obstruction?

Good luck, I know it's frustrating!

Mimi

Elizabeth Beads
2009-10-29, 5:41am