Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Gold Foil...

J&M
2010-01-12, 12:25am
I was gifted some gold leaf which I've never worked with before. Can I get some tips or tricks on how to work with it please? I really don't want to waste it! I've used plenty of silver foil and copper leaf... but not gold leaf. I've seen some very nice beads from a lot of you guys using this here on LE. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jack

Starrr
2010-01-12, 1:20am
What I do is fold a sheet of printer paper in quarters and wet it down with a mist bottle until it's pretty wet, you can lay some tin foil under it to prevent a mess. Then I *carefully* flip a sheet of gold foil onto the wet paper, don't do this when your ventilation is on. Once the foil is adhered to the wet paper you can make your bead and roll it right on the damp foil that is still stuck to the printer paper. I mist between beads as the paper dries out fairly quickly, don't worry about the wet paper hurting your bead, it won't. When I'm done i just store the paper with the dried gold foil until I want to use it again, it will stay affixed without a problem. When you're ready to use the gold again, just mist the paper again and give it a minute to soak through all of the four quartered sheets of printer paper. I use this same sheet over and over again by just adding another sheet of gold foil when I need it.

J&M
2010-01-12, 1:39am
Great idea Starrr! Thank you for the input!!

Jack

Judith Billig
2010-01-12, 2:20am
I use folded paper towel, pour some water on it. This way gold leaf clings to the surface of the towel and doesn't float around in my studio :). Be careful when transfering from the booklet to the paper towel, else you'll have it sticking all over the tweezers or your fingers.