Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Best Burn cream ??

Momliz
2008-08-02, 2:46am
Hi.. My hubbie uses a torch for work and I am a newbie lampworker. In your opinion, what is the best over the counter or prescription burn cream ?

thanks, Liz

KayTStudio
2008-08-02, 3:32am
Best thing I ever did for burns was ask my doctor for a prescription for silvadene. It works really well for burns.

Art of Hand
2008-08-02, 3:50am
For the first 12 hours we apply a product called Burnshield. I work in an ER as a RN. And I use it while torching. It contains teatree, etc, and think it originally comes from Australia. It not only shoothes, but also creates a barrier to further heat - which means that I can carry on with torching and not get affected by the heat from the torch. After 12 hours you need a solution like Silvadene. My burnshield is in a spray form (u also get it in sponges, but that needs to be bandaged on the skin), which is nifty, as i just spray it on, no need to cover for 1st degree burn wounds. I just keep on applaying it every 30 minutes or so.

Diana

Momliz
2008-08-02, 5:27am
Can Burnshield be purchased in the USA? thanks, liz

ditfd
2008-08-02, 6:03am
The best burn cream is pure lavender oil -- must be made from "Lavendula Augustifolia" (sp?). It takes the pain away almost immediately, it makes the burn insensitive to heat so you can continue working, and it prevents the burn from turning into a big open sore. And it smells good.

Best,
Patti

debkauz
2008-08-02, 10:37am
Mary Moth on LE (Moth) makes the best burn ointment I've ever used. I'd recommend that over anything else that's out there.

scoutycat
2008-08-02, 11:25am
A glass guy at Corning who happens to also be a plastic surgeon who deals with burns said in a presentation that anything with silver in the name is best - like silvadene, or any other polysporin/bacitracin type ointment with silver.

pittypat
2008-08-02, 2:23pm