Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boro Room (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   The Value of Floral Pendants (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281079)

SteveR 2015-08-23 8:09am

The Value of Floral Pendants

Hello all-- I have noticed friends, co-workers, relatives want my floral pendants--- and I started mailing them all over to a number of people. I just give them away-- because I am still learning. I have been doing these for about a year-- prob like 100 pendants made.

I was at a county event where artists are selling fused glass--- ceramics and metal jewlery-- but no floral implosions in the county where I live in Oregon.
So who here is actually selling their boro jewlery? - and how much is a pendant worth at a fair or on ebay? Its costs about four dollars to mail a box with several--- and a couple of dollars of materials to make a pendant. You can mail six of them for the same price as one. Can a person actually make some money on the side doing lampwork jewlery?

AmorphousDesigns 2015-08-23 9:55am

first you must define "make money", because the materials are actually the least expensive component of making jewelry. Try to determine the time it takes you to do the following, multiply by the bare minimum hourly wage you desire and then price your pendants.

time to select and acquire materials
time to make object (set-up, creation, clean-up)
time to find venues to sell, either on-line or on-site
time to photograph, edit and post pictures of your work for sale (good quality photos a must)
time to manage on-line store
time and materials to pack, ship, track and communicate with buyers
time to drive to/from, set-up, sell and break down set-up
time to manage "social media"
time to manage finances (track, figure out taxes, etc)