Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Boro Room (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   A concentrator question (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=308956)

Blackbunny 2019-01-08 1:24am

A concentrator question
 
Hello everyone)
I am pretty new to lampworking, just have some experience with soft glass. But I am dreaming of tube implosions and fuming :)
I work on Mega Minor torch and 5 lpm oxygen concentrator. The question is - will i be able to try working with boro tubes on it or the second concentrator is necessary?
And how to bake boro glass in the kiln? Sorry if my questions are stupid, just couldn't find the answers here :oops:

Kare TX 2019-01-08 11:44pm

You will probably need two. It will still be slow. Bottled would be better. https://www.nortelglass.com/torches-choices.shtml

Kevin7191975 2019-02-03 11:45am

I have a gtt bobcat with the same dreams of implosions as you, lol.I use 3 5lpm at 4lpm each max, total of 12 lpm when fulled ppened oxygen. i can burn 16mm rod quick, but if you have 2 you should be great or 1 10lpm. Check the torches spec, i also have tanked but that goes quick, so unless if im doing something specific that need tank o2 ill use that but 2 5 LPM should be fine when i have 3 on it rips up boro

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Eileen 2019-02-03 6:45pm

And you anneal boro at 1050į, and remember the rule about thickness, so marbles for example you need to add time. I think it is 15 minutes per 1/4" of thickness, but I am not sure.

Subduction 2019-02-03 8:26pm

I can't find any numbers from Nortel but here is a nice table of bench torch oxygen requirements: https://artistryinglass.on.ca/charts...ortorches.html

BKingery 2019-03-04 3:57pm

I have a Mega Minor torch and I use 3 5lpm oxygen concentrators. Runs at ~12-14lpm total. I keep an oxygen tank attached to the larger torch head which I believe uses ~40lpm and I use sparingly.
I have multiple used oxygen concentrators for sale at a great price. I picked them up as a package deal. Message me if interested.
Best to you.

The Grinch 2019-04-22 9:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eileen (Post 5025516)
And you anneal boro at 1050į, and remember the rule about thickness, so marbles for example you need to add time. I think it is 15 minutes per 1/4" of thickness, but I am not sure.

15 min at 1050 per mm of thickness I believe is the rule

KA 2019-04-23 5:32am

I run three concentrators into an air compressor for a GTT Mirage. I have found 99% oxygen (bottled) is much better for fuming than the 95+/-% oxygen I get with the concentrator(s). I am not saying you can’t fume with 95% you just get the full spectrum of colors with the purer oxygen. I find other things, like vortex and opal inclusions as satisfying because the concentrators are so much more economical than bottled. Just my opinion.

The Grinch 2019-04-23 7:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KA (Post 5034939)
I run three concentrators into an air compressor for a GTT Mirage. I have found 99% oxygen (bottled) is much better for fuming than the 95+/-% oxygen I get with the concentrator(s). I am not saying you canít fume with 95% you just get the full spectrum of colors with the purer oxygen. I find other things, like vortex and opal inclusions as satisfying because the concentrators are so much more economical than bottled. Just my opinion.

I just recently got a homefill and Iíve been getting better spectrum with my new setup. That being said Iíve figured out a few things and Iím thinking getting the full range is all about flame tech. Have to work farther out in flame and I also use kiln crash to bring the blues out. Do you have a holding tank with your oxy setup? Peace✌🏻

KA 2019-04-23 8:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Grinch (Post 5034942)
Do you have a holding tank with your oxy setup? Peace✌🏻



Yes, itís a HVO Mighty Mite similar to this:https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...51952b687d.jpg

rebecca22mcdonald 2019-05-14 10:58am

Hi! New to lamp working - I have 2 oxygen concentrators that run at 5 lpm - But I keep loosing pressure behind the torch. Do you know how I can remove pressure sensors in them so they work at full force?

Alaska 2019-05-14 2:12pm

A 5 LPM machine will have a static pressure in the range of 5 to 10 psi. Thus it is best to use two machines with the same static output pressure. Most machines have a way to adjust output pressure inside the machine. Keep in mind that more pressure is not a solution.

With both machines running into a "T" the LPM reading should be between 3 and 4 with your torch operational. Note that at higher LPMs the oxygen percent is less. (check your manual for this data) Thus it is important to not run these wide open.

If you need more oxygen then add a third or fourth machine. A GTT Scorpion or Cricket is designed for lower oxygen pressures. Other torches use higher pressures which most oxygen concentrators can not supply. If you need more pressure then tanked is one solution and if you do a lot of work then look into LOX.

However, let me ask how are you measuring the PSI line pressure to your torch?

Speedslug 2019-05-14 2:30pm

There is a reason that your machines are crapping out on you and since these things are designed as medical equipment trying to work around the pressure sensor systems on both machines will likely take a ton more effort that finding the problems and fixing them.

Have you replaced the 3 filters?
There is a large sponge like one to keep the cat hair out of and then a pretty tiny hole one kind of like paper filter on a vacuum cleaner bag.

There is also often one that looks kind of like a gasoline fuel filter that is located just before the oxygen goes to the output port on the panel.
This one is a biologic filter that prevents bacteria from being sent to the sick patient.

Salt City Glass once had kits for various models of oxygen concentrators with all the filters you need.

These things are built like tanks but they do need filters changed once a year for medical use but at least every 5 or 10 years for lampworking.


Thee is a lot of information about oxycons here in the 'safety', 'studio' and other threads.

Try using the search function for your brand or your symptoms.

I am sure I have seen a question or 3 about similar problems here some where and if I weren't running on 4 hours sleep in the last 36 hours I would try to hunt some up for you but my brain not really worky right now.

Speedslug 2019-05-14 2:36pm

Oh and don't use a flashback arrester on your oxycon lines. They require more umph to make them work properly than most oxycons provide.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51am.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.