Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Torch Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Hot Head really NOT! (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17126)

1st Glass Beads 2006-03-19 5:29pm

Hot Head really NOT!

Ever have a BAD bead day? Being a newbie, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I just made 3 bombs. I'm using a HH with 1lb MAPP cylinders and can't seem to get the heat into the glass. I was trying to 'splain to my DH that the cylinder gets cold and then it doesn't heat enough, but I couldn't tell him why. Can anyone help me with an explaination? Thanks
Frustrated in Texas:mad: :confused: :cry::evil:

IF-Designs 2006-03-19 5:39pm

when the gas leaves the canister in rapid release it supercools and essentially freezes. Then it does not work correctly. Im not sure if im explaining it correctly but I think thats basically what happens.

kbinkster 2006-03-19 7:42pm

Be glad that the glass badness is being concentrated into one torching session and is not spread out.

Just curious about the cannister freezing thing... are you shutting the torch off after each bead?

1st Glass Beads 2006-03-19 7:45pm

Yes, but I was trying to add dichroic to a basic bead and couldn't get the stuff to get soft enought to move. I thought I was doing it like I learned in the class, but maybe I forgot something.

dragonart glass 2006-03-19 7:51pm

if your canister is getting too cold hold a bowl of warm water (it doesn't even have to be that warm) underneath it.....you'll see the flame get bigger

Rebekah 2006-03-19 7:53pm

You're making me miss my HH! LOL

I remember the canister days and that all stopped after I got a tank. My Matilda served me well for the first 2 and a half years of torching. Keep at it and think about getting a tank if you're not planning to upgrade your torch any time soon.

Rebekah

1st Glass Beads 2006-03-19 8:04pm