Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Safety (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   No ventilation? (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=290824)

Heartovmidnight 2016-11-13 11:08pm

No ventilation?

Hello!

I'm fairly new to lampworking and have been researching studios in my area. The closest one looks good, has 5 torches and teaches the occasional class but they don't seem to have any kind of ventilation system. The ceilings are crazy high - maybe 20-25 ft high and they do have fans around to keep the place cool but is that really safe enough?

Livefyre 2016-11-14 1:07am

Hi there I'm super careful cos I work with silver rich glass as well. I have full flow through air plus ventilation system plus respirator. I think at the very least a good air flow is necessary. Enjoy!! It's such a magical art ☺

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

Chocake 2016-11-14 8:17am

I wouldn't imagine that high ceilings would make much of a difference with the amount of particulate being blown into you, but I'll leave the experts to answer.

Eileen 2016-11-14 9:12am

And I have always heard that the fumes sink, not rise.
When I took a class at a recreation center for a couple of sessions, they did not turn on the exhaust fan because of the noise, and I went home with headaches. That was one of the reasons I stopped and decided to try to learn on my own.

AVTrout 2016-11-14 9:17am

No! That's not enough. I used to rent torch time in a building that had no ventilation whatsoever, and the last time I went there I was so disoriented when I left that I got in my car and started driving in the wrong direction!

snoopdog6502 2016-11-14 5:55pm

If its not properly ventilated then they are plain foolish, way too ghetto to consider renting a bench from.

Outfits like that give lamp workers a bad name, thinking everyone is a dumb stoned wookie.

You want to work with people who understand the health danger.