Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips, Techniques, and Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Let's Talk: 2013 Clear - A NEW Discusson! (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=236038)

theglasszone 2012-12-05 12:36am

Let's Talk: 2013 Clear - A NEW Discusson!

OK, so I've been making beads for almost 6 years now...and I've seen a lot of clear come and go, and countless discussions of pros and cons as well. :lol: We had many threads in the past discussing clear, but I'm hoping to start a new thread to discuss the currently available glass, as there are many "new" clears on the market...

As some of you know, I work exclusively on a Hot Head, and make a TON of murrini; this means I need a clear that can stand up to a lot of heat and for extended periods of time - and STAY CLEAR without scumming, fuming, or doing pretty much anything weird! :x

From early 2008 to mid-2009, I tried every 104 clear then on the market - Moretti (Regular) Clear, Moretti Stringers, Lauscha Clear, Lauscha "reformulated" clear, Lauscha 104 Soft Clear...well, you get the picture! I finally found the clear of my dreams - Lauscha 104 Soft Clear...the one that had the very pale blue cast when you looked through the end of the rod. Soft like butter in the Hot Head flame, clear as crystal when melted and held up beautifully without scumming, fogging, burning, etc. over extended flaming sessions. I bought pounds and pounds and pounds of it and happily torch away - until now. :(