Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Torch Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   My Betta is Hot!! Can you help? (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31081)

la•ni•ha 2006-08-17 11:28pm

My Betta is Hot!! Can you help?

Hello. I was so excited when the plumber came today to hook up my natural gas. I have been waiting a little over a year for my studio to be done. So I jumped right onto my new Betta torch and have burnt everything.... really really bad. Granted I'm a newbie, but I have taken a class before...it was awhile ago, so maybe I’ve just forgotten all I thought I still remembered. I was taught on a Bobcat and actually bought a Lynx, but then before I hooked it up, I bought the Betta since I would be using NG and heard that it would run better than a Lynx. I'm now wondering if I should hook up the Lynx and see if I can get that to work. Anyway, I digress.
When I say burned...my clear is black. My white got that black stuff on it like when you burn a candle that's in a glass jar, you get the soot on it. Yep, same stuff on my glass rods.
How do I turn down the heat? I tried more oxygen and less Natural Gas, and vise versa, but either way, still charred to a crisp. I do have two devilbliss oxycon, but I was only running one because it seemed hot enough.
Please help...I think it's time I start looking for a refresher course for lampworking 101 But maybe someone could give me some quick pointers in the meantime.

Thanks,
Lauren

bead crazy 2006-08-17 11:31pm

That happened to me and I was told I had to much oxygen I was told that it was something that was from the oxygen that was on the beads. I am fairly new too but thought I would share what I was told good luck
Lori

Mr. Smiley 2006-08-18 3:21am