Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Torch Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Suitable for lampworking?? (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=304120)

Handyann 2018-01-05 9:26am

Suitable for lampworking??

Hi all,

I've inherited a Carlisle Universal torch in excellent, virtually unused, condition. I wondered if any of you knowledgeable folks could please tell me if it's any good for lampwork? It came in a case full of silver working stuff, so I'm not sure.

I'm a beginner lampie (Lampist?? Lamper??) with a Hot Head (in more ways than one! :eek:), but am moving soon to a studio with natural gas, so am seriously considering upgrading to a gas/oxy suitable torch.

Any advice would be great!

Thanks
Ann

notrhydon 2018-01-05 9:50am

It looks a lot like the smaller National hand torches. I don't see any reason it wouldn't work if you found some way to mount it. Carlisle already makes a bench mount for it.
http://carlislemachine.com/webcatalo...hand_torch.pdf

Enjoy the upgrade! I just moved off a hothead recently and have been blown away by the difference in how long a project takes. I can do twice as much in the same time-frame.

I also wholeheartedly support the adoption of the term Lampist.

Handyann 2018-01-05 10:15am

Thanks for your input Ryan,

I wondered if the flame from the Universal was a big enough diameter to be effective, seeing as the HH has a throat like the Channel Tunnel. The Universal tip is only 10mm across.

It's odd that there isn't yet an accepted term for the people indulging in this hobby. Flameworker is a bit of a mouthful really, but is the nearest I've come across.

notrhydon 2018-01-05 11:50am

I've got no experience in pre-mix torches, but you should be able to get a suitable tip on there. It won't be huge, but it will be hotter and more dynamic than a hothead.

Handyann 2018-01-05 12:56pm

Can't wait! Thanks a lot.