LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Glacial Art Glass

Old 2009-05-08, 9:04am
Corgi Cult Member

Default Flashback Arrestors

This is probably a really dumb question, but I've never used one before. Now that I'm setting the Lynx up again, I would prefer to have the extra safety feature.

I understand flashback arrestors can be placed either between the torch and the hose, or between the hose and the regulator. Are the flashback arrestors the same for either placement? If not, who sells the ones designed to go between the torch and the hose. I only need to buy gas.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2009-05-08, 11:06am
Gentleman of Leisure

The configuration (placement) of the FB arrestor is determined by the way the connectors (male & female) are configured according to the direction of flow in arrestor...

IF you want them at regulator, directional arrow needs to point away from female end that connects to regulator, if you want them at torch arrow has to point towards female end that connects to torch....

Both style arrestors should be available where hoses and regulators are sold....

Dale

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Old 2009-05-08, 11:46am
Corgi Cult Member

Thanks Dale, that makes sense.

Old 2009-05-12, 9:03am

Dale is correct in his description. I find it hard to see the direction on the arrows if I'm ordering on-line, however. The picture resolution is usually too poor. The most commonly available FB's I've found are from Western Enterprises. Most welding supply companies and glass suppliers seem to carry that brand. If you go to Western's website

http://www.westernenterprises.com/en...arrestors.php#