Lampwork Etc.
 
AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat




Caber Light


 
  #1  
Old 2007-03-18, 8:09pm
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default Two Torches on One Propane Tank?

Hello...

Can a person hook up two minor torches to one 21 gal propane tank? If the psi of the tank is around 20 then can two torches be able to operate from one tank? Or would that cause fluxuation problems?

Would appreciate any adivce.

Thanks Much!
Deborah
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2007-03-18, 10:01pm
Dale M.'s Avatar
Dale M. Dale M. is offline
Gentleman of Leisure
 
Join Date: Jun 10, 2005
Location: A Little Bit West of Yosemite Valley
Posts: 5,200
Default

Yes you can with a "Y" connector... If you have good quality (responsive) regulator one torch should not have much effect on other....

Dale
__________________
You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2007-03-18, 10:29pm
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default

Hi Dale,

Thanks so much for answering my question... to clarify for me and please forgive the quick paint job image but something like this?



Thanks Again!
Deborah
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2007-03-18, 10:32pm
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default

Looking at my image I see I didn't add the hose between the propane tank and the first hard pipe line. %-) lol
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2007-03-18, 10:39pm
glassworks glassworks is offline
hooked, completely!!!
 
Join Date: Jan 02, 2007
Location: Sandhurst and Belgium
Posts: 160
Default

you only need one regulator - on the line directly at the tank... tis will set the pressure for the rest of the system.. we run 4 torches off one tank and one regulator and never have any problem...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2007-03-18, 10:44pm
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default

That's great info Glassworks because what I want is to set up 4 torches but I was thinking I'd have to do two to a tank... Do you have 4 torches set up to one 21 gal tank? On average how long before you need to refill that tank?

Thanks Much!
Deborah
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2007-03-19, 11:39am
Cosmo's Avatar
Cosmo Cosmo is offline
ManBearPig
 
Join Date: Jun 28, 2005
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 8,540
Default

I have all four of our Minors in our teaching studio running off the same 5 gallon propane tank. Works fine. I refill the tank once a month.

But we usually only have all four torches running at the same time on Saturdays when we have classes. The rest of the time it's usually only one or two torches running at a time.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2007-03-19, 11:44am
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default

Thanks Cosmo!! Great news for my new studio.

Take Care,
Deborah
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2007-03-20, 1:12am
glassworks glassworks is offline
hooked, completely!!!
 
Join Date: Jan 02, 2007
Location: Sandhurst and Belgium
Posts: 160
Default

we're the same as cosmo, and get similair use...

we don't bother to turn our torches off every time we a break either - which isn't too clever but the gas usage is minimal!

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2007-03-20, 8:29am
MikeAurelius's Avatar
MikeAurelius MikeAurelius is offline
Safety ALWAYS
 
Join Date: Jun 10, 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Posts: 2,401
Default

On your drawing, there should be a regulator on the tank -- the maximum pressure you should run through a hard line is 20 PSI, that's NFPA fire code. You may already have that -- but just in case you don't......

Additionally, I'd run 3/8" minimum hard line, and at best, 1/2" so the pressure stays as high as possible, then after the regulators, run standard 1/4" T grade line to the torches, provided your total run isn't more than about 5-8 feet. Beyond that, again run 3/8" T grade hose.

The larger inner diameter will prevent surging in the line which can occur when a torch is started up or shut down.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Chaotic Glass: Safety for the glassworker, and random thoughts and opinions on the state of the glassworking world
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2007-03-20, 9:38am
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default

Thanks Mike... the line diameters will be good info to give the plumber.

Deborah
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2007-04-04, 3:39pm
chayes's Avatar
chayes chayes is offline
product of the universe
 
Join Date: Sep 06, 2005
Location: Rutvegas Vt
Posts: 598
Default

I use a T splitter at the tank and run multiple regulators off it, as i have various torches that run off different pressures. But for my hand torches i have a Y connecetor to split the lines since they all run off the same pressure.
__________________
Chris


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

And the men who hold high places,Must be the ones to start,To mold a new reality,Closer to the heart--Rush

Currently using fire.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2007-04-04, 4:05pm
pam's Avatar
pam pam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 15, 2005
Posts: 2,251
Default

Using a manifold I have run as many as 12 torches off one propane tank.
__________________
Pam

"It is easier to perceive error than to find truth, for the former lies on the surface and is easily seen, while the latter lies in the depth, where few are willing to search for it." Johann Wolfgang Von Goeth

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Blog
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2007-04-04, 4:08pm
GlassFirenze's Avatar
GlassFirenze GlassFirenze is offline
aka Deborah Spence
 
Join Date: Mar 25, 2006
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Posts: 239
Default

Wow! 12 torches!...

Since starting this thread I have purchased a manifold for the project but it is always great to get continued input as each one is helpful so thank you Chayes and Pam! Plus, it's interesting to see how different people dealt with their set up... I hope this thread is helpful to others doing the same.

Til Next Time,
Take Care,
Deborah
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 3:17am.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Your IP: 3.89.204.127