No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2005-12-11, 5:54pm
No Longer an LE Member

Default moretti dark pink

I am relatively new at lampworking but I have managed to make a little bit of progress. I thought I had moved well past the stage where I was thermal shocking glass rod as I began to work them in the flame. However today I was using Moretti dark pink, a color I had used before and it was thermal shocking real bad. It was not colder than normal in my studio and I had no problem with other colors I was using. I had melted a gather of glass and was winding it onto a mandrel and a piece of rod about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch "exploded" from the tip of the rod. That would include a nice molten bit of gather that promptly began melting it's way through my shoe. I reintroduced the rod VERY slowly and took great care to pre-heat it and as I started working a gather onto my mandrel the exact same thing happened.

I had used this exact same rod a few days earlier to make a bead and had no problems with it. The conditions in my studio were no different from normal. Is this color more prone to thermal shock? Has anyone else had this issue with Moretti Dark Pink?
Old 2005-12-11, 6:09pm
Entropy increasing....

It it a very shocky color. Pink, Opal Yellow, Coppergreen, the new tile roof color.

A tip someone told me here is to turn of the oxygen and use propane to warm it up. It's gets shmutzy though. If not that, just really take your time warming it up.
Old 2005-12-11, 6:27pm
No Longer an LE Member

Default Is this normal?

Here is a close up photo of a cross section of the rod that shocked and "exploded" off. The rod has what appears to be 4 air spaces running down the length of the inside of the rod. I have pointed out 2 of these air spaces that show up on this photograph. Is this normal? Would this cause a thermal shock problem?