AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2013-07-31, 7:26pm

Cool My First Public Demonstration Tomorrow. Suggestions Please!

Aloha Amigos! Cowboy here, it's been a long while since I've posted on here and things have really moved forward. I'm still a novice lampworker, there's always that never-ending list of things to improve and learn, but I've managed to get to a point where I was invited to do a public Lampworking Demonstration at a nice local bead store. Over the past couple weeks I have been feverishly collecting everything necessary to safely entertain the masses, the event is this Saturday and I'm finally ready. My safety measures are as follows:

I built a three-foot high acrylic shield that goes around three sides of my workbench. The acrylic is 1/4 inch thick, supported by eight 3/16 inch steel strips that are bolted to the workbench. Aluminum angle-iron is bolted onto the front corners so that no glass can accidently slip through a gap in the shield. The bench was custom-built by my girlfriend's awesome grandfather, it is 36 inches square on top. I made a small platform to raise my torch off of the table about two inches and, even without that, the heat from the torch goes well above the top of the shield so the shield won't get wrecked.

I bought three pairs of Didymium glasses for viewers who wish to watch closely or for extended periods of time. Those are pretty standard, I plan on using ball chain to hang the glasses from the tent where people can easily access them and they'll be safe from dropping on the ground.

I have an eleven by seventeen sign with large print explaining that people can't come behind the bench, they must not stare directly at the sodium flare for too long, and that they can't touch anything.

As far as safety goes, how does that sound?