TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Old 2011-03-21, 12:01am

Default Hothead Help

I am new to lampworking. I just got my hothead set up and it is connected to bulk propane. My first beads came out black. They should have been blue and green. What am I doing wrong? My ones I made at class using mapp gas turned out fine.

Is my flame adjusted wrong? How do I know if my flame is set right? My Passing the Flame book by Corina doesn't have a hothead flame example.

Should my propane tank be opened all the way?

Am I working too close to the torch?

If anyone could help I would be very appreciative!

Thanks in advance
Old 2011-03-21, 10:48am

Hi LiaH...

I would start with working further out in the flame...seems to me you are getting too much propane and if they still are turning black or gray, then you need to lower your flame a bit.

Another great book is Making Glass Beads by Cindy Jenkins.

I hope this helps...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kathie

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2011-03-21, 6:14pm
Gentleman of Leisure

Also if flame is big and bushier, turn it down some till you have central cone a sharp pinpoint... You may have to much unburned fuel in flame ... Also moving out in flame may help... When you changed fuels the flame "chemistry" changed, there for the "sweet spot: inflame moved....

Dale

Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Old 2011-03-21, 8:50pm

Dale & Kathie thank you both for replying. I am going to go try your suggestions. I am hoping for better success! My kids both thought my first beads were rocks. Not quite the look I was going for.
Old 2011-03-21, 9:02pm