Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2013-02-18, 7:28am

Default Devardi Glass?

I have a newbie question! This has probably been asked and asked again somewhere on this site, but I didn't see it anywhere.

I'm new to glass work (love, love, LOVE it, by the way -- I'm already and addict).

I just started at Christmas time, with a beginner's kit I received as a gift.
Naturally, I've already run through all the glass that came with the kit, and bought some more of the same kind at Hobby Lobby, but it didn't have a wide variety of colors.

I just ordered a few pounds of rods from Devardi, mainly because of the price and the beautiful color selection. But now I'm reading that it's difficult to work with???

I don't have any "special" equipment - just the simple Flameworks torch that came with the beginners' kit, but I seem to be progressing nicely (at least, I'm satisfied with the beads I've started making). When I make a bead, the finished product looks how I intended, so I think that's a pretty good start for a weekend hobby only started a couple months ago! LOL!

I had assumed all 104 COE would be about the same. Am I going to be disappointed when my order gets here?

Any tips for using this glass when it does get here - which should be tomorrow??

Thanks so much in advance!!
Jan
Old 2013-02-18, 7:36am
I fart diamonds

Most Devardi is shocky. Some of the Devardi colors are really shocky but you don't "need" to buy any special equipment to work with it other than something to use to preheat your rods. You can use a hotplate, curling iron heater, pancake griddle, your kiln if you have one...