No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2011-05-09, 9:57am
Disconnected

Default A BHB question

I have read a lot of those BHB threads but can't find the exact measurements for each brand of bracelets, even on their websites.

I am new to this (the BHB thing) and I recently completed an order for 3 of those, where my customer said the hole had to be 5mm to fit both her Chamilia and Troll bracelets.
I had read somewhere here that the 5/32" mandrels were kind of "universal" size for all bracelets (I'm talking about non cored beads), but they are smaller than 5 mm, so I bought 3/16" and completed my order with them.

And by the way, I have a newly gained huge respect for you ladies who crank out those suckers all day. It took me about 2 bowls of water-annealed beads to get it right with the 3/16" mandrel that feels like a baseball bat. Bitch.

So, my question is, with un-cored BHBs, what are the 5/32" mandrels good for? Good for Troll but not Pandora/Chamilia? Good for all?

Do you guys all own one bracelet of each brand and digital calipers? I browsed a lot of your Etsy stores, too, in order to get an idea for measurements, but most of you core your beads. I'm not sure I want to be doing this yet. And then there's the double dipping thing that comes in to confuse me more.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2011-05-09, 10:53am

3/16 uncored will fit all the bracelet systems that I have come across so far! 5/32 is good for Troll only....If you want to core beads - then use 3/16 mandrels with Ginko's tubing - as it will still fit all the systems.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/ginkodesigns?ref=seller_info

Hope this helps!
Shauna
Old 2011-05-09, 11:38am
Disconnected

Thank you Shauna, it does help!