Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2017-08-16, 1:45pm

Question Silvadene use

I went to the Dr. the other day for an eye thing and before leaving I asked the PA that was treating me if I could get a refill script for Silvadene. Told her that I worked on a torch and occasionally (ha ha) burn myself. And I used the cream to treat the not so easy to ignore burns. She told me that she also works in a burn unit and Silvadene actually prolongs a burns healing and that it was better to use Neosporin to keep it moist and cover it with a band-aid. I've been using Silvadene for about 4 yrs now and have never notice a burn not healing with it not to mention that it soothes a burn instantly when I use it. Has anyone had a problem with this cream that was obviously made in Heaven?

Thanks Lisa
Old 2017-08-16, 6:02pm
Loving learning

I have some in the fridge, but my doctor told me it was only to be used on burns if the skin was open/missing, because the purpose was to fight against infection. I have never used it though.
Old 2017-08-16, 6:19pm

Totally agree Lisa, made in heaven for severe burns.

Was told it heals from the inside out ... which would go along with Eileen's comment
"Use on burns if the skin is open/missing."
Old 2017-08-16, 6:25pm
I'm meeeeelting

I have a scientist lamp worker friend who says the same thing - it's only effective on open burns. It's my understanding that for a new burn, you should soak in very cold water (but don't use ice) to cool the burn and stop the spread of the damage and not coat it with anything, because ointments or creams will hold the heat in.

Foot Pedal Tutorial:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kevlar Fingerless Gloves:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.