Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2007-01-19, 7:23am
ManBearPig

Default Okay... this has me baffled...

I've recently been working with a lot of soft glass. I've been preparing for an encased floral class I'm teaching. I'm using Lauscha clear for the encasing (which I have been using for two years with no problem) and I'm getting cracks in all my pieces. Not coming out of the kiln - they look fine after they come out and I take them off the mandrels. These cracks are developing days later. They are all cracks running from hole to hole. I haven't cleaned the bead release out of them, so I know I'm not cracking them while doing that.

I had made many beads like this a while back, and I still have many of them. Some are over a year old, and they are still fine. Also, this clear is from the same batch I was using then. I bought 5 pounds at one time, so I'm still using the same clear that is in the old beads that are fine. I am using different bead release (Sludge Plus now, old beads were using Foster Fire) but I wouldn't think that would make a difference.

All the colors are standard Moretti colors (except one which was that Messy pink). No colors that are known to cause cracks. No frit or anything either.

I'm annealing them at 960 just like the old ones. In the same kiln, using the same program on the kiln. I was taught early on to put Lauscha clear into the kiln a little hotter than you would with other 104 COE glass, so I have been doing that all along.

But, for some reason, everything I've made in the past couple weeks develops cracks a few days after coming out of the kiln. Any ideas?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.