Lampwork Etc.
 
Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat


Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage


 

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2010-11-28, 5:39pm
Torcha's Avatar
Torcha Torcha is offline
Channeling Chaos
 
Join Date: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 458
Default Q re: Two-oxycon hookup

Hi,
I have 2 m10 unlimited oxycons. The first I have had hooked up for a while and am now trying to figure out how to hook the 2 together.

I have included pictures of my set up and the extra materials I received to hook the two together. Can anyone post pictures of what this looks like? Do I really have all the materials I need or do I need to also get another brass fitting?

Thanks in advance for any replies and assistance.
Alana
Attached Images
   
__________________
Flameboyance Glass
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2010-11-28, 6:28pm
Alaska Alaska is offline
Alaska Boro
 
Join Date: Dec 10, 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,049
Default

See image....



Some add a check valve to each line. They system will run fine without these. This system has check values in each line.

Connect up to your torch. Turn on the oxygen torch value and then start up the machines. After about 10 minutes (5 to 10) the oxygen purity should be up to specifications. Adjust the LPM flow value on each machine for a balanced reading. i.e. both at say 4.5 LPM, etc.

Enjoy the new machines!

Last edited by Alaska; 2010-11-28 at 6:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2010-11-28, 9:54pm
Torcha's Avatar
Torcha Torcha is offline
Channeling Chaos
 
Join Date: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 458
Default

Thanks Alaska! It looks like I may have to buy another brass fitting for the 2d oxycon, based on your photo. Your white plastic connectors look a little different than mine. I guess I will try it out and see if it works. Appreciate your response.
Alana
__________________
Flameboyance Glass
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2010-11-29, 10:58am
tenor_ringer's Avatar
tenor_ringer tenor_ringer is offline
Ambivitreous
 
Join Date: Apr 03, 2009
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaska View Post
Some add a check valve to each line. They system will run fine without these. This system has check valves in each line.
This kind of brings up a question I had; I assumed oxycons have check valves on their outputs, but I wasn't sure (I did a forum search and didn't find a direct answer).

My 2 questions for our oxycon gurus:

1) Is it true that they do have check valves on the outputs?
2) Is it OK to run just one of the two while they're connected together or can the operating unit's output pressure damage the non-operating oxycon?
__________________
Phil from Rochester

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rockin' 2 Nortel Red Maxes with Mega Minor topfires on natural gas & 6 EX-15s with my glass accomplice Lisa F-R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2010-11-29, 11:12am
Dale M.'s Avatar
Dale M. Dale M. is offline
Gentleman of Leisure
 
Join Date: Jun 10, 2005
Location: A Little Bit West of Yosemite Valley
Posts: 5,200
Default

Yes they have check valves (internally) on their outputs....

Dale
__________________
You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2010-11-29, 4:27pm
tenor_ringer's Avatar
tenor_ringer tenor_ringer is offline
Ambivitreous
 
Join Date: Apr 03, 2009
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 741
Default

Thanks Dale! I appreciate the info.
__________________
Phil from Rochester

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rockin' 2 Nortel Red Maxes with Mega Minor topfires on natural gas & 6 EX-15s with my glass accomplice Lisa F-R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2010-11-29, 4:44pm
Alaska Alaska is offline
Alaska Boro
 
Join Date: Dec 10, 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,049
Default

And from one concentrator manual....

"Sieve Bed Check Valves

A check valve located between the outlet of each sieve bed and
the accumulator tank allows oxygen to pass through the sieve beds to the
accumulator tank when the bed pressure is greater than the accumulator
tank pressure. These valves also prevent reverse low of oxygen from the
accumulator to the sieve beds."

And with this model there is a final check valve in the line just prior to the flow meter. Other designs may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2010-11-29, 8:58pm
tenor_ringer's Avatar
tenor_ringer tenor_ringer is offline
Ambivitreous
 
Join Date: Apr 03, 2009
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 741
Default

Thanks for the additional info, Alaska. That makes perfect sense. I would imagine other concentrators work in a reasonably similar fashion. I appreciate your posting the excerpt from the manual.

Although we've had our oxycons about a year and a half, I haven't taken the time to learn about exactly how they work, so this fills in some of the knowledge gaps.
__________________
Phil from Rochester

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rockin' 2 Nortel Red Maxes with Mega Minor topfires on natural gas & 6 EX-15s with my glass accomplice Lisa F-R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2010-12-04, 2:16pm
Torcha's Avatar
Torcha Torcha is offline
Channeling Chaos
 
Join Date: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 458
Default Need more assistance

So thanks again for the responses. I have the 2 oxycons hooked up and of course the set up isn't working!

The one on the left was the one I have been working with no problem. When I run the 2 hooked up together the new one on the right is cycle and running air, but the one on the left is not pushing any air. I can hear it running, but the ball does not go up. I shut off the one on the right and just ran the one on the left and still no luck. Hmmm... So I though I would post a picture of how I set it up and see if anyone would be kind enough to help me out again.
Alana
Attached Images
 
__________________
Flameboyance Glass
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2010-12-04, 5:00pm
Torcha's Avatar
Torcha Torcha is offline
Channeling Chaos
 
Join Date: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 458
Default

Do I need to buy one of these?

http://www.arrowsprings.com/html/torch_accessories.html
__________________
Flameboyance Glass
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2010-12-04, 6:22pm
Alaska Alaska is offline
Alaska Boro
 
Join Date: Dec 10, 2009
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,049
Default

Your connections are typical and look fine.

Check to see if each concentrator will run the torch by itself. Then use a pressure gauge to make sure that both units put out the same pressure. Say 5 psi or 9 psi, etc. If the pressure is not balanced then that can be an issue. However, with two machines of the same make and model that should not come into play.

And you should NOT have an oxygen flashback arrestor in the line. Did not see one, but checking just in case.

For your present setup turn on the oxygen value on the torch with both machines on. Then adjust each concentrator flow value for the same setting until they balance out at say 3.5 LPM. Then make an adjustment on the torch value and both ball levels should go up or down the same amount.

Not sure what 'one of these' happens to be. But it would be my guess that you do not need any additional items.

Last edited by Alaska; 2010-12-04 at 8:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2010-12-04, 7:02pm
oxydoc's Avatar
oxydoc oxydoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torcha View Post
So thanks again for the responses. I have the 2 oxycons hooked up and of course the set up isn't working!

The one on the left was the one I have been working with no problem. When I run the 2 hooked up together the new one on the right is cycle and running air, but the one on the left is not pushing any air. I can hear it running, but the ball does not go up. I shut off the one on the right and just ran the one on the left and still no luck. Hmmm... So I though I would post a picture of how I set it up and see if anyone would be kind enough to help me out again.
Alana
This setup looks normal to me. I agree with Alaska. Unhook both. Try them separately. Then hook one up at a time. jack
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

866-955-0200
3 year warranty & Life Time Support
PayPal address
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2010-12-04, 8:45pm
Torcha's Avatar
Torcha Torcha is offline
Channeling Chaos
 
Join Date: Aug 07, 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 458
Default

Thanks everyone. With the help of a friend who came over, we figured out what was wrong. One of the brass connectors to the oxycon wasn't tight enough!

Appreciate all of your assistance.
Alana
__________________
Flameboyance Glass
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2010-12-05, 6:02pm
oxydoc's Avatar
oxydoc oxydoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torcha View Post
Thanks everyone. With the help of a friend who came over, we figured out what was wrong. One of the brass connectors to the oxycon wasn't tight enough!

Appreciate all of your assistance.
Alana
Cool
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

866-955-0200
3 year warranty & Life Time Support
PayPal address
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2018-05-05, 12:40pm
5betsy 5betsy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 17, 2009
Location: Olympia!
Posts: 334
Default

Bump. I needed this today! Yay, LE to the rescue.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 3:13pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Your IP: 54.225.26.44