Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-02-27, 6:23pm

Default hot head

What is best height to work with a torch?

I am just starting out and I am having a hard time seeing the flame and the glass I am trying to work. Very uncomfortable and tiring.
Would appreciate your advice.

Thankyou
Old 2012-02-27, 6:32pm
Salt Box Beads

You need didy's if don't have them, and I use a black background to see better with.

Height and distance of torch is individual. I need armrests to keep my back from aching and I stand while torching.
Old 2012-02-27, 6:49pm
ScrapSurfGlassPaddleSew

A dark background makes a HUGE difference! I do find sometimes I have to lift my didys to find the "sweet spot" in the flame - it depends on what glass I'm using, some colors I just have trouble seeing if it's melting or not.

I torch standing, but don't use armrests. I think position is going to be something you have to sort of figure out for yourself through practice. I clearly remember when I first started driving that it was EXHAUSTING to hold my hands up on the wheel, I think a lot of it is just getting the muscle memory to work with something new and awkward.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
L-111

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2012-02-27, 6:53pm
The Harbinger of Cuteness

What Pat said about the dark background works wonders for seeing the flame. For a while I could only torch at night, until I realized I could just block the windows in my studio and paint the wall across from my torch black.