Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2013-06-07, 10:38am

Default Any tips for skull press?

My sister just bought me a Bavarian Beads skull press (the 3D small). I've never used any kind of press before.

Are there any tips, tricks, advice? Is it hard to figure out how much glass needs to be on the mandrel? Can you press more than once? How would I do some kind of sugar skull details while keeping the face from melting off?

Anything else you can offer up in advice or instruction I would be forever grateful. I'm still a noob in pretty much every sense at bead making! LOL

Mini CC & M15
Old 2013-06-08, 10:20am
Back to 👊 1

I would have sworn to gawd that DeAnne, theglasszone , had a tut for that but I can't find it.

Maybe pm her or someone with better search skills will chime in?

Sorry that I am of no help to you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Don't make me cranky, I WILL "chuck a tanty!" a la PerfectDeb

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2013-06-08, 1:17pm

I have one. I just played around until I figured out how much glass. yes you can press more than once if you are very careful. You just have to be careful not to break your bead release. I did some sugar skulls with mine as well, just turn down your heat, but remember to keep your bead warm while adding the details.

Old 2013-06-08, 6:33pm

Hey....I use presses a lot and there is definitely a learning curve for each one. The best advice i can give is make sure that your base bead is as wide as the skull from one side of the mandrel to the other. It is better to have to add glass on the top and bottom little by little than to have to add glass to the mandrel.