Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2007-10-25, 9:39am
Meg*

Exclamation Just starting what torch should I use....

Good Morning all!

I am just starting out my own little studio. I took one lampwork class and did really well. I have already bought a little kiln.

I want to get the professional set up but I don't have a lot a $$ to spend right now. I have read quite a few of everyones threads on what torch is the best. Some people seem to be able to make good beads on the HH and some can't. Everyone seems to like the Minor.

I really want to make large beads and it seems like everyone has a hard time doing that on a HH and I have read a lot about the HH streaking the beads.

I want to get set up the best I can for the least $$ than I can.

Please help! Can I make great beads on a HH at least until I can save the money to buy a Minor.

What do you Pros think??

Thank you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

New Stuff 3/23
Old 2007-10-25, 9:48am
ManBearPig

I don't really qualify as a "pro", but I'll tell you my experiences.

Honestly, you can make really nice stuff on a hot head. It does take more patience and attention to keeping things warm. I have a customer here who makes really nice stuff on a hot head. Although, I have noticed that very few people who use a hot head end up staying with that torch. Most all of them end up going for an oxygen-propane torch. You do have more versatility, adjustability, and heat with a dual gas torch, and that is the main advantage they have over a hot head. I personally have never worked on a hot head.