No users in chat

The Flow

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-07-17, 9:49pm

Default Announcing the XPress Bead Liner from Art in the Round

Hi,

Well, by golly, this thing is just darn neato.

Update 8-8-08
Note the name change and a new picture. There was already a tool named bead-x-press (a mold press) so I was asked to change the name and complied. I'm not going to bother to go through the entire thread to change it though. Please refer to it as Impress from now on. Thanks...

It's the Impress Bead Liner, from Art in the Round.
Super esay to use, fast, and ... affordable! About time, huh?

Pictured below are two of the several core styles possible with this tool. I'll be posting more pics later, but I wanted to finally get this show on the road. I've been experimenting for a couple months with various designs and techniques for this application, and this is the final result! I think you'll be thrilled to know these beads pictured here were done in less than three or four minutes. (Actually the one on the left I think took under a minute.)

The black bead has a silver lining, and the green bead is done in brass. Notice the smaller hole in the green one. Guess what? The two are actually the exact same size tubing! Hammering the lip all the way down like that shrinks the hole down from 5 .5 mm (on the left) to 5.0 mm (right.)

The black bead is a result of using ONLY the tool to shape the metal. Other shapes are possible as well, not shown here.

The silver tubing is Rio Grande 1/4 inch OD by .218 inch ID,
part # 100-907/14. (Same stuff most of you are using.)

I will be making a couple of these per day as orders come in, so if you want one fast, be froggy! Be prepared to wait a week or so for delivery if things get hectic at first!

I don't know what kind of response I'll be seeing, so I'll be making them to order for now.