Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2014-02-03, 2:41pm

Unhappy Ventilation problem

Hello from Prague, I am new to lampworking but I have been reading here for quite a long time. I would like to thank everyone for the precious info and help that you provide and I wonder if you have any opinion about my ventilation problem. I set up a small home studio in a spare room on the first and floor of my house. Regarding the ventilation I got inspired here:

http://www.andreaguarino.com/VENTILATION.html
http://www.aspenhotglass.com/ventilation.html
Iīve purchased a max. 705 m3/hour= 412 CFM fan /German Ruck Ventilatoren/, an aluminium "6" flex tubing 2 metres long, and a "6" to "10" metal adapter at the end. The adapter is about 30 cm from my GTT Cricket torch, facing it. Because of the fan and the open window behind me, that should bring the fresh air in, the room is a sort of windy. I did the test with a "smoking" stick and everything seemed to be ok, the smoke goes from the torch to the entrance of the tubing /round "10"/ only.

The problem is that after about 2-3 hours of work I clearly start feeling sick. Bitterness in my mouth, a sore throat, a sort of alergic reaction in my nose...and it lasts for a couple of days!!! Having followed the rules that seem to be ok even for some professional studios I canīt figure out where is my problem and what I do wrong... Is it possible that I am super sensitive? Did anyone have a similar problem? Thanks a lot for any suggestion, Miscia
Old 2014-02-03, 3:59pm

I'd like to help you, but I'm sure the usual suspects will come around soon and tell me they think I'm wrong...even though my last job was modelling hydraulic flow of gas. So I'd rather not say anything. There's a lot to look into that isn't listed here, so it will require some discussion.

Facebook: