No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-10-04, 3:04pm

Default Did You Know?

Hi,

I'm new to participating in this forum, so I'm not quite sure what the heck I am doing, but I have a tip that I would like to share with everyone. Here is my humble offering....
If you need to have a mark on your mandrel that is not going to disappear in the flame, use a prismacolor Indigo blue pencil that they sell individually at Michaels. The mark stays through the whole torching process. I heat my mandrel slightly(a couple of wafts through the flame)and then make my marks. The slightly heated mandrel lets the mark glide on like butter without digging into your bead release. Don't accidentally touch the mandrel silly!You will burn your fingers! Woo Hoo my first posted tip. Now I have to really get the courage up to someday post a bead in the gallery.

Thanks for listening,
Jeannie
Old 2010-10-04, 3:27pm
Jacqueline Parkes

Thank you for the tip, it is on my shopping list. I have been frustrated when I lose the mark so quickly when using a sharpie pen. Can I ask which department you would normally find these pens in Michaels?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2010-10-04, 3:40pm

Hi Jacqueline,