Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2019-04-13, 9:40am

Default What metal inclusions can I put in Boro ?

Besides fuming , what can I add to Boro ? I’ve seen stainless drill coils , and copper screen , I think that was in a Boro bead. But I was thinking like copper or brass splashed on ? Or lumped on ?
And I think I heard mica powder will just burn out and look crappy.
What will make the the Boro glittery or sparkle ?
I’ve only looked at one manufacturer of Boro , maybe another manufacturer has “glitter” or “sparkle” rod ?
Thanks a lot !

P.S. I get my first torch today. A divardi spartan. Probably not the best torch but it was only $100 as opposed to a hot head. Since I already have tanks regs and hoses for welding I figured what the hell......

P.S.S. I’m new at this , never even made a bead but I have a 1 hour session with a artist next week ......

Last edited by RINGO; 2019-04-13 at 9:44am.
Old 2019-04-14, 5:08am

There are glitter and sparkle rods available from TAG and GA (Glass Alchemy).

You can also use gilson opals (whole or crushed), modalite and some other rock type.substances. And of course there is dichro and dichro extract from CBS. Make sure to buy Coatings by Sandburg (CBS) ... others I have found to be inferior in comparison.

I believe you can use aventurine but I need to read up on the tips ... I've had no success I get it tooo hot and it goes and ugly green for me.

I've also been testing some glitter's that work with boro but aren't ready to go to market yet.

Welcome to the obsession!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2019-04-14, 7:41am
DaveK

Default What metal inclusions can I put in Boro ?