Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2008-07-05, 6:42pm

Default Tips on dot implosion?

Hey im pretty new to boro - maybe only about 2 weeks... and im having a bit of trouble with the dot implosions that are meant to look somewhat like an "awesome blossom" (hahaha chili's reference ftw)

Anyhoo, it imploding fine, im getting the rounded look but the tips of the imploded dots are pointy, and i would like to see them more rounded -- Ive seen the "rounded tip awesome blossoms" before but i dont know how to make them less pointy

Any suggestions?
Old 2008-07-05, 7:06pm
Borovangelist

I'll give you a hint, play with the shapes that you lay down on the maria.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Old 2008-07-06, 6:29am
boro color bender

If you lay down a small line instead of a dot, you'll get a more rounded tip. Pull a stringer and practice laying down 1/8" lines around the center, but not in the center. The only rule with implosions that you're going to really bloom is to NOT put a dot or line dead center, because it will mushroom when you implode it. .

"Truth is, everybody is going to hurt you; you just gotta find the ones worth suffering for." -Bob Marley
Old 2008-07-09, 10:35am

Can someone draw a picture of what you mean. I have a hard time following the directions unless I can see it.

Heidi

~~
~~
Old 2008-07-09, 2:31pm
ManBearPig

Bigger dots = rounder tips.

For example, on this marble the dots were about the size of a dime:

The finished marble is about 1.375" diameter. Granted, that was done on a tube and not a rod, but the same principle applies.

Old 2008-07-09, 9:39pm

Quote: