No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2017-01-02, 5:36pm
SCIENCE Teacher!

Default Water for diluting your bead release

I have been making FosterFire Bead release since 2001 but most bead releases have similar ingredients so this will work for all bead releases.

I have been advising for about 5 (6?) years now for beadmakers to use distilled water. When I made bead release in AZ the water was hard and perfect for bead release. I moved to Texas and my bead release had to be made with distilled water or it would be ruined. When ruined it goes as thin as skim milk and stays that way. It's the result of chemicals added to the water to make hard water "softer", meaning less calcium, magnesium and other minerals.

I have had sporadic reports of my bead release going thinner and although it's not ruined it can be hard to work with. It gets too brittle. This happens some months after having used the bead release and it usually starts some days or weeks after diluting the bead release.

I finally tracked down this fact: distilled just means it's been through a process of distillation. They are not promising that it hasn't been cross-contaminated or that it is free of the chemicals that are added to break down the minerals. So if there is a small amount left of those chemicals in the distilled water it will very slowly break down the bead release. Since there is a much smaller amount in distilled water, and distilled waters very considerably from company to company, it's hard to say f any one distilled water is safe to dilute release and if it will stay safe.