Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2011-11-24, 8:13pm

Default Will this kiln work??

I am very new to lampworking...ok, I barely know what I am doing. BUT, I did figure out that a kiln is a good thing if I want my beads to last.

I also figured out that most kilns are quite expensive.

However, browsing about craigslist, I found this:

http://jacksonville.craigslist.org/art/2713750745.html

Will this work for lampwork beads? I don't even know what to look for or how to find out, so I am going straight to the experts.

Thanks!
Old 2011-11-24, 8:28pm
Fried Cat

It's been a long, long time since I was around ceramic kilns. Like 20 years. But I remember them from my earliest memories and I'm familiar with this particularly type.

The short answer is "No". The primary reason is because it's a top loader and garaging a bead would be impossible because every time you opened the top, you'd lose enough heat to crack the beads.

The more technical problem is that these kilns run on a method of cones and redness of those cones. Imagine a candy thermometer. The soft stage, the hard stage, the ball stage, the crackling stage. Ceramic kilns are about as convoluted. As I said, it's been decades since I've been around a ceramic kiln and if I remember right the temperature range is much broader than lamp working requires. Some glass can change colors with just a difference of 20-30 degrees. In fact: Here..

http://www.bigceramicstore.com/infor...ConeChart.html