Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2007-05-11, 9:44pm
Dazed and Confused!

Default Total Newbie in Boro

Hi all!

I have been working soft glass for two and half years and wanna play with boro. I am also a newbie to LE when it comes to posting, lots of lurking!

I made my first round spacer boro today and its in the kiln...totally just playing. What I need is advice!

What are some good books to get? I do better with books than VHS or DVD.

Bead Release - my foster fire is great for soft glass, but the heat kills it when doing the boro. What works?

I have a Minor and two oxy's and a holding tank -- its amazingly hot compared to my buddies torches. The glass melted easily, but again the bead release was not holding up. Got my eye protection and kiln schedule -- I am only making rounds for myself and friends, maybe small sets for auction.

I will just be playing for a few months (then hopefully making small sets for auction) and can take any and all advice, tips, or tricks you may have. Links to tuts are wonderful too! If you know any good websites with info I would love that too. I am at ground zero with boro!

Thanks all,
Janet
Old 2007-05-11, 9:58pm

well I am new to boro too but so far here is what I suggest

cook book of boro recipes by lori robbins. - some great color recipes in there.
most of the soft glass techniques apply to boro bead making also but if you want to work up to larger stuff try "contemporary lampworking"

as for bead release there are a bunch of threads on here about it. Some like alice's some like sludge plus or super blue sludge.