Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2015-07-08, 5:22am

Default Please help a noob with colors!!

Hello all,
Don't post here much but I read a lot! Thanks in advance for all the help you have provided!!
Anywuas, let me start by saying that I'm a total noob and only have about 15 hours of torch time and nine of those hours took place at a beginners lampworking class at zen glass.
I'm having a hard time with colors when making marbles and such. Most of the colors I have tried to use don't end up staying the color they originally were. When melting in color or even sometimes pulling stringers my color will really lighten up, change color, and sometimes even turn clear.
Also some of my colors wlill boil but I know that's from being too hot correct?
Am I losing my color because I'm working everything to hot?
Is there certain colors that are easy and that I should stick to while I'm still new?
If I'm working it to hot how do I melt the color in then?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old 2015-07-08, 5:44am
He can do the origami

I will come back to this thread and try to answer more thoroughly later. It may help if you listed what colors you are talking about but I can give you some generalities. First off, many of the crayon colors "solid white, yellow, red, orange, green etc" boil easily. Some less so than others but in general, crayon colors boil easily. Try working them cooler at first and once you get them melted a bit you can work them hotter to a degree.