Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2010-01-15, 4:37pm
Astro Cat

Default physics of implosions

I was wondering if anyone could explain the physics of the implosion? I'd appreciate feedback on both varieties (made from hollow rod vs solid). I had a class last weekend and saw both done and did make one with the solid rod that is so-so. I have also tried it a few times in soft glass with a basic rod of clear with varying amounts of success. I realize it take a lot more practice than I have but I'm curious as to the physics to help me understand it better. I can't help it, I'm a scientist LOL!
Old 2010-01-15, 7:07pm
Marbles, dude, Marbles

I've spent many happy hours thinking about this. Really...

I've thought that whenever a mixture gets heated up enough it begins to flow around in the container that's holding it. I figure it flows around because the entire mixture (ok-glass rod) doesn't get heated up evenly. So, say you make a thick maria and put 3 colored dots on it -like if you were laying down stamens. Implode them a little and then put a dot of clear over each colored dot. Implode the clear dots. Put colored dots over the clear dots. Implode them and then cover them with clear etc. making a . . . . . . .
dotted line in your marble. Now you can see how the glass flowed. I'd say the glass flows from the edge of the maria to the center of the maria and then up into the maria in a circular flow.

Now, this is the good part. You can control how far the dot will move, like you could do a flower implosion with the flower in the lower part of the marble (where it gets magnified real well) or in the upper part of the marble.

Well, this is the way I think it works, but I don't know this for a fact, so don't hesitate to chime in.