LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Caber Light

Old 2006-03-29, 6:37am
Flamethrower

Default Hot Head Flame COntrol

Hello! I have been reading pages & pages on torches & haven't found the answer I need, If it's way back in the archinves- I appologize. I have been playing with my HH for about 2 months. After the 1st week, I went from MAPP canisters to a 30LB Propolyne tank. I love the larger tank, no more freezing & bigger flame, but a lot of the time, the flame seems very orange & bushy- Even when I bring the valves down as low as the will go (Both HH & Tank, and I have even tried each valves seperately).
I am not ready to go to a minor and I am still nervous about an oxygen tank in my studio (A topic for another time), but how can I get the flame more "under control"? A regulator? Can I put one on a propolyne tank by itself? Would that be the "fix"?
Old 2006-03-29, 7:35am

You probably don't need to go to propolyene, many people use bulk propane without any problems. My suggestions would be:
(1) Always open the valve on the tank all the way. A partially open valve can freeze up and cause problems with gas flow and make it difficult to close the valve.
(2) Don't use a regulator. The hothead is made to be used at the full pressure of the tank.
(3) After you light the torch, turn the valve up and down a little until you find the range where you are regulating the flame. Open the valve until the flame doesn't change anymore, then turn the flame down until you just see a slight change in the blue color of the inner cone of the flame. This is usually a good working flame. Work just above the tip of this cone. If you have trouble with soot, try working further out in the flame or turn the flame down a little more.