Lampwork Etc.

TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2010-01-07, 4:42pm

Cool Fumeing Hothead

Can anyone give me some pointers or post some pics? Ive read some tips about covering the air intake holes with tin foil but i guess you could say i dont excactly get the full idea. I have been lampworking for 6-8 yrs now and began with a major/minor which was easy to fume with. In the last 2-3 yrs ive been demoted to a HH due to setup space and monetary limitations.If someone could please post pics of what the flame looks like of the ideal reduction flame on a HH and how to achieve it I would so greatly appreciate it!
Old 2010-01-07, 5:32pm

Umm... you cant fume on an HH. The flame is always slightly reducing.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2010-01-07, 5:36pm
Tweedle Dumb

You need a slightly reducing flame for fuming silver.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<Click For My Latest Murrini!

<Click! For Pandora Style Beads!
Old 2010-01-07, 5:50pm

I know that I cant fume on a hothead but i have seen others that can and have seen finished results done on a hothead. I do know that it takes a reduction flame, but am wondering how to get the right reduction on a HH.
Old 2010-01-07, 6:20pm
Jacqueline Parkes

I would like to know how to do this as well.

Old 2010-01-07, 6:46pm

I've read that you need to make an aluminum foil "collar" and put it around the holes on the hot head head... you can see them about (what?) 4-5 inches or so from the end of the head... kind of on the shoulder of it. Hell, they're holes. You can see them! lol.. I am so bad at directions.