Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Glacial Art Glass

Old 2012-11-18, 3:04pm

Lightbulb Best beginner torch for soft/boro lampworking

I've been doing a lot of research on what torch to buy first, yet I still have not made any purchases. I've been working with a hothead propane only torch for about 6 months. I want to be able to do soft and hard glass beads, and eventually do hard glass sculpting. I like the Bethlehem Alpha, National 8m, or the mega minor burner. Cannot decide which one of the three to get, any ideas or suggestions are highly welcome. Even if it is not one of the 3, would love to hear peoples opinions

Thank you,
Boroglasster
Old 2012-11-18, 3:25pm
Noooobie!

Quote:
Originally Posted by boroglasster View Post
I've been doing a lot of research on what torch to buy first, yet I still have not made any purchases. I've been working with a hothead propane only torch for about 6 months. I want to be able to do soft and hard glass beads, and eventually do hard glass sculpting. I like the Bethlehem Alpha, National 8m, or the mega minor burner. Cannot decide which one of the three to get, any ideas or suggestions are highly welcome. Even if it is not one of the 3, would love to hear peoples opinions

Thank you,
Boroglasster
I don't know the difference between the torches you mentioned...just wanted to say I am using a Nortel Minor and it works great! I'm a newbie so others can give you better comparison info.,,, just wanted to say that it is easy to use.
Old 2012-11-18, 5:09pm
Alaska Boro

If you are looking for a torch that is conservative in oxygen then consider the GTT Cricket. It works well on one 5 LPM concentrator.

The Cricket will do boro beads in the range of 18 to 22 mm. And if more heat is required it is an easy upgrade to a Scorpion as the Cricket is the center fire.

There are other torches in the same price range. However, some others require more oxygen for maximum performance.
Old 2012-11-18, 5:52pm