Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2006-11-22, 8:51pm
Noobie

Default Nortel red max

Hi, I am new to lampworking, taken only one class and am currently on a HH...I have the chance to buy a torch for 400...probly about 430 after shipping....I would like to learn to do small shapes...xmas, horses..work w/ boro and learn to made vessels eventually...my ? is....Is this a good price for this type of torch? And...what have others thought about this torch? Thanks
Old 2006-11-22, 8:57pm
In search of her path....

How old is the torch? You can pick one of these up new for around $495 I believe....so its not a bad price just depends on the condition...you want to make sure it has the surface mix minor top on it...its a great torch for boro work and doing larger work you can do some nice goblets and ornaments with it.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Prints for sale in my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Old 2006-11-22, 9:00pm
PyronamixK

That's a very good price for that torch if it's new. What does it have on top? It will either have a premix or a surface mix. If you are planning to work with soft glass, I would suggest the Minor Burner top mount. However, if you plan to do mostly boro and fume a lot, then you might prefer the premix tip.
Old 2006-11-22, 10:03pm
Noobie

This is what is written about this torch. I understand that I wont be able to get the full heating power w/ the bottom w/o a concentrator??, but could use the top portion until I get one.

I hate to part with this extra torch. I bought it in 2005. I used the Minor on top mostly for beads, and the bottom for making complex Murini, for 6 months.