LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2020-03-14, 2:59pm

Default Is it normal to be nervous as a newbie?

Hi All,

I'm new to the site and lampwork although I have been fusing glass for about 3 years. I decided to try a hot head and enjoyed it but I'm very risk averse and the heat of the fitting against the mapp canister made me uneasy. I now have the basic Bethlehem running on propane and oxygen concentrator.
The problem is I'm constantly terrified the whole thing is going to blow me up. My husband is an engineer and set it up and checks it and I follow all usual advice but still the fear persists.
I just wondered if it's normal or if anyone else experienced this and if it improves.
I do love it when I forget about my fears for a few minutes so I want to get on top of it.
Thank you
Old 2020-03-14, 4:37pm
Queen of the milo field

Yup, very normal.

Fire & gas & flying glass! Oh My!

You'll get more comfortable the more you practice, but there's just a primordial thing in the back brain that still comes out 'Ooook!!' as far as fire is concerned. Just be aware of where your flame is at all times.

And, face it, it's not if you'll get burned it's where, when, & how bad - closed toe shoes & no low cut shirts are very good ideas. Hot glass trapped between you and clothing can be, well, a real pain.

Some glass colors are more likely to make frit bombs in all brands. Some folks stay away from Devardi for that reason even though they have some lovely colors; numerous threads here on that topic - I've never used their glass, so am not an expert on that fact.

That said, I've never really been burned bad enough to keep me away from the addiction, but do always keep an aloe plant growing. There are several threads on here about the best burn meds. as well.