Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2013-01-09, 4:37pm

Default Torch vs. Hothead question

I received a Nortel Major Minor for Christmas. I've been using a Hothead for approximately 3 years. I spent the afternoon hooking everything up and I'm really surprised at the outcome. Is it normal for a bead to take a considerably longer time? I hooked the torch to an Oxygen Concentrator (EX-15) and a propane tank. I can't describe it except to say it takes a while for the glass to become fire red and the flame seems a little soft.
Old 2013-01-09, 4:40pm

Everything has a learning curve, work on adjusting the mixtures to get the three major types of flames.

Old 2013-01-09, 7:41pm
Salt Box Beads

No that is not normal.

You should be able to move glass a lot faster. You need to check your candles and make sure you have your propane to oxygen ratios correct for a neutral flame.

Here is a thread that might help...

http://lampworketc.com/forums/showth...al+flame+check
Old 2013-01-10, 3:48am
Cave Dweller

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biz.e.beads View Post
I received a Nortel Major Minor for Christmas. I've been using a Hothead for approximately 3 years. I spent the afternoon hooking everything up and I'm really surprised at the outcome. Is it normal for a bead to take a considerably longer time? I hooked the torch to an Oxygen Concentrator (EX-15) and a propane tank. I can't describe it except to say it takes a while for the glass to become fire red and the flame seems a little soft.
Need. More. Info.

But it sounds like you are not getting enough O2 from the EX-15.

Does the silver ball on the oxycon move when you turn the knob ?
(Set it to 7 LPM, the middle of the ball on the line is the way to read it.)

If the ball does not move:

Did you twist the connector on the oxycon when you attached the hose ?