Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2021-01-22, 5:09pm

Default Bullseye beads

I have made a lot of lampwork beads in the past using 104 COE, a minor torch and one oxycon. Since I've been fusing with bullseye glass for the past couple of years I'm considering buying some bullseye rods to make lampwork beads. Can anyone tell me what differences I might notice using this glass?

Geraldine

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2021-01-24, 3:20pm

Geraldine, I'm not an expert in Bullseye, but from talking to those who are? It's stiffer, there are a lot more pinks and purples to choose from, and you anneal at the same temps as 104.
Old 2021-01-26, 11:53am
dances with ideas...

I think those are the key points. I believe that there are not nearly as many reactions between colors as in 104. Many years ago an instructor said that Bullseye “wants to be round” and it seemed true IMO.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2021-01-26, 3:48pm

I use Bullseye sometimes. As well as being a little stiffer, I think it holds heat better, so you have a bit more time to manipulate it out of the flame before it sets.
Also they do my favourite green - seaweed!

This bead is made of separate petals (clear plus different BE frits and stringer dots), kept warm then joined together on a seaweed lentil base. Sorry, it's not a great pic.

Old 2021-01-26, 7:20pm
Resident Luny