No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2015-04-24, 12:13pm

Question Need some help with Oxycons

Hello everybody
I'm a newbie girl, just infected by this wonderful illness called lampwork. I started with my little HH one month ago but the "fever and needings" are growing too fast and now "I know" I need a bigger torch
I have been reading in this forum about growing up and expectations and I have decided to go for a GTT Lynx with a 10 LPM -15 psi oxycon for my preferences: soft glass and little-medium boro (oxy tank is not an easy-available option here in my country (Spain)).
What is the problem? It is really difficult or impossible to find oxycons here in Spain and I think there is a lot of custom troubles if I buy one from USA sellers.
I have been watching the Tuffnellglass site, and they sell a 10LPM oxy, but with 8-11 psi. Is that enough when the Lynx requeriments are 15-20 psi? I'm sure this is a silly question and sorry for bothering about that, but I'm really confused and need some help. Is that pression enough to run the Lynx in perfect capacity, or the psi issue is so important as to think in going for troubles with Customs, energy transformers, different gauges and adaptators and so on?

If you know anything about this issue, I would be delighted to know from your experience and opinions, mates.
Also, if there are any european lampworkers that could send me any advice, or any knowledge about oxy sellers in Europe, I'd really really appreciate that.
Thanks in advance
Old 2015-04-24, 12:21pm
I fart diamonds