LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Old 2005-09-29, 6:29am

Default Oxy and selling questions

I have a couple of questions -

1. It seems like I'm really going through the oxygen. About what is normal?
I have a minor on oxy/propane.

2. I've only been lampworking since February and haven't had a whole lot of time to torch. Every fall the very small town I live in puts on a little festival -nothing major, just some local artists, crafters, food, etc., you get the picture. Anyway, I've sold some jewelry (crystals, gemstones, SS) there for the past two years and reserved a space this year as well. My question is, what do you think about selling beginner beads? They're not great, by not great I mean they are shaped OK, but I haven't mastered (OK, I haven't MASTERED any) many techniques, so they're pretty plain, but they are kiln annealed. The price will be very low and I will definitely tell people I'm a beginner (as if they won't already know!). I thought maybe it would help me pay for glass if I could sell them for something.

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!
Old 2005-09-29, 6:34am
Safety ALWAYS

We always use more oxygen than propane. Just look at the pressures involved: For most people running soft glass, the pressures are 2 to 1, oxygen to propane.

In my studio, we go through about 1 - 20 pound propane tank a month, and the equivalent of 15 - "K" tanks of oxygen (equivalent because we switched to liquid oxygen).

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chaotic Glass: Safety for the glassworker, and random thoughts and opinions on the state of the glassworking world
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2005-09-29, 8:01am
Cheerfully Profane

Don't know about the oxygen question, but I have a bit of advice that I follow about selling my beads...