Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2014-04-07, 7:15am

Red face uneven beads

hey everyone! I am pretty new to all this, and I have a lot of questions. Most of my questions can be answers by just practicing, but the one question I have right now is getting an even bead. I rotate my bead slow and even in the heat, but somehow one side always turns out wider and fatter than the other. It is not a huge differnce, but I know I am doing something wrong. I think it has something to do with my application. help please?
I have not taken any classes bc there are none available in my area. I have been doing a lot of research and watching videos on youtube.
Old 2014-04-07, 7:34am

add a "dot" or blob to the smaller side and work it in nice and slow.
Old 2014-04-07, 7:53am

You may be holding your mandrel at an angle even though you think you're holding it straight. Try placing a small mirror somewhere on one side or another so you can see your hand from a different view.

Could also be things like heating one end more or tipping the mandrel while the glass is still molten.
Old 2014-04-07, 7:54am

I will try that. thank you!
I have tried adding to it, but I may not have added enough or maybe to much. lol I was just thinking I was doing something wrong? I have only been making beads for a couple weeks, so I will play with it some more.
Thanks so much for your help!
Old 2014-04-07, 7:55am

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talonst View Post
You may be holding your mandrel at an angle even though you think you're holding it straight. Try placing a small mirror somewhere on one side or another so you can see your hand from a different view.

Could also be things like heating one end more or tipping the mandrel while the glass is still molten.