Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-07-21, 11:44am

Default Selling Beads and Jewelry

I have some experience in the past with making and selling wire wrapped jewelry but it's been a while and it was gemstone jewelry not my handmade lampwork glass bead jewelry...blah blah so it's not really relevant to what I want to know now.

Out of all of you on LE who make your own beads and sell them, how many of you also make jewlery from them to sell? And out of the two, do you find you sell many more bead sets or do the jewelry pieces sell equally as well? I'd imagine bead sets but then I don't know so that's why I'm asking!

I'm just trying to figure out where to concentrate my efforts. I know I want to make and sell some jewelry too so I'll have to get educated on it all anyway, but you know, just asking so I can figure out what I want to focus on.

Have to sell stuff so you can keep buying more glass! Right!?

An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one. ~Charles Horton Cooley
Old 2010-07-21, 3:02pm
Mary Lockwood

Everybody is different, you just need to start making beads. When they get good enough you start sharing them with people. Either give them away as gifts or sell them. Make some jewelry for yourself and for your friends/loved ones. Get even better. Make more. Get a feel for what you like to make and see what your target market is.

You can't make jewelry from beads you haven't made yet.

Fire up that torch, girl and get melting some glass. I'm really looking forward to seeing what you create.

You think you have a lot of questions now? LOL You have no idea what you're in for! Go melt some glass, and get ready for us all to be asking for pictures.