Lampwork Etc.
 
AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat


Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Glacial Art Glass


 
  #1  
Old 2014-08-28, 5:42pm
Oasies Oasies is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 28, 2005
Posts: 172
Question S.O.S. -help with new Bobcat & NO flame:/

Helloooooooo...I need your help, please & thankyou...
I have a Cricket, but all of the sudden I stopped having a flame.
Thinking it was a torch issue, I bought a Bobcat. Smh, lol

Same problem, NO flame. So, I know now it's NOT a torch issue, lol...
My oxygen concentrator still runs great & I'm on year 10 of lampworking with the old girl. At least I think it's great...when I turn it on, I can feel oxygen pouring out. When I go to light my torch, it will NOT LIGHT, period. The End.
I'm going on the process of elimination & have eliminated that it's a torch issue, so that leaves my concentrator, propane tank or my propane regulators....?

I recently exchanged my propane tank, but is it possible it's just the tank?
I can smell a faint amount of propane, but don't think it's as strong as previous times with a newly filled tank...I mean wouldn't it at least light if there's some propane coming out? Oh, also I unfortunately stored my regulator & hoses out in my garage for a Winter (record snowfall & temps. for Toledo, Ohio)
Don't ask.....*sighs*

So, just trying to think of everything here...
I can't even get a flicker of a flame, when I go to light it, it just does nothing.

Anyone have any thoughts on this problem at all?
I just need to resolve it....& would appreciate the help soo much!!
Smiles,
Lori
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2014-08-28, 6:33pm
squid's Avatar
squid squid is offline
Ass-kicking Cephalopod
 
Join Date: Jun 19, 2006
Location: Duh, Squidville
Posts: 9,521
Default

Are you lighting the torch with only the propane on and it won't light? If it lights but goes out when you turn the oxy knob on, your oxycon is pushing AIR not oxy.

Have you tried a different propane regulator?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

DOG is my co-pilot
Cricket w/two 5 lpm oxycons - and sometimes a Minor.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2014-08-28, 7:07pm
echeveria's Avatar
echeveria echeveria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 31, 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,090
Default

Does your tank feel like it actually has propane in it? Maybe you got an empty one.
__________________
Kathy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2014-08-28, 8:52pm
Oasies Oasies is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 28, 2005
Posts: 172
Default

No, it won't light whatsoever....
My propane tank is new and really heavy, but I'm going to swap it out tomorrow.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2014-08-28, 10:12pm
caliente's Avatar
caliente caliente is offline
Melody of Glass
 
Join Date: Apr 08, 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,511
Default

Is your propane hose blocked? Any chance of some critters sneaking in to the hose or reg over the winter?
__________________

Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.

Coming soon...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2014-08-28, 11:52pm
Oasies Oasies is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 28, 2005
Posts: 172
Default

Critters??? Eeeeeppp.
Good question....not sure which way to go after replacing the propane tank...
Assuming it's not the tank, boy oh boy! I'm a "Negative Nelly"!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2014-08-29, 1:11am
Kalorlo's Avatar
Kalorlo Kalorlo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 31, 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 358
Default

The next thing would be your regulator - if it's not letting any gas through, you won't be able to light your torch.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2014-08-29, 6:24am
2xMI 2xMI is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 14, 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 2,366
Default

It really sounds as if your regulator and/or hose is malfunctioning or blocked if you've already swapped out your tank. Is there a welding shop you can take them to to test for you?

Mimi
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2014-08-29, 8:02am
glassymom's Avatar
glassymom glassymom is offline
Mr Brutus RIP
 
Join Date: Apr 29, 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 4,369
Default

Yea, when I packed away extra hose, dh put tape on both ends saying something would make a nest in it other wise.......... i'd bet on that!! do you have a compressor that you can blow air through the hose?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2014-08-29, 3:46pm
echeveria's Avatar
echeveria echeveria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 31, 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,090
Default

I tossed my hose out my window once to hook it up to my tank, and it hit the ground and put a dirt plug in the end. Took me a bit to figure that out, had to let it dry out before I could knock it all the way out. Now I make sure I give it enough of a heave to get it all the way to the deck.
__________________
Kathy
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2014-08-29, 4:49pm
Eileen's Avatar
Eileen Eileen is offline
Loving learning
 
Join Date: Oct 11, 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 11,567
Default

I don't know if it could be this after 10 years, but mine needed to be turned up higher than the common 3psi. I called Nortel, and he suggested I turn it up to 5 or 6 and try it, and that did the trick. But my hose & regulator were pretty new still.
__________________
My current "hot" fantasy involves a senior discount on glass & tools!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2014-08-30, 6:45am
Dale M.'s Avatar
Dale M. Dale M. is offline
Gentleman of Leisure
 
Join Date: Jun 10, 2005
Location: A Little Bit West of Yosemite Valley
Posts: 5,200
Default

All the smaller tanks equipped with the new type valves (OPD) have a anti free flow devices in valve body, if your regulator is not screwed in all the way, it may not be opening the anti free flow valve, and you have no propane to torch.... Check to see if regulator connection to tank is secure and TIGHT....

Dale
__________________
You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vendor-Artist-Studio-Teacher Registry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
San Francisco - A Few Toys Short of a Happy Meal
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2014-09-10, 11:20am
khan khan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 12, 2012
Posts: 79
Default

You mean you have been lampworking for 10 years and you dont know how to see if you have propane coming out of your torch??
I donno but i would think thats kinda basic...

Khan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
no flame, oxygen concentrator, propane tank, regulator


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 3:54pm.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Your IP: 18.207.157.152