No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2007-07-16, 12:08pm
Abstract Stinker!

Red face It is hot in Houston

I am a newbie. I am trying not to ask questions that have already been asked and answered on this forum. For a newbie this forum is a gift. I don't know what I would do without you guys.

1. I live in Houston where it is extremely hot. Is there much danger of a propane tank blowing because of this heat. I know you keep BBQ tanks outside but my tank will be outside my window much closer than a bbq pit.

2.Do I need to buy something special to store the tank in outside that is safe from lighting storms and heat. I know I can't just sit a tank on the ground outside, it is very wet and humid. I have done some metalsmithing with disposable tanks inside. But now that I am more aware of the dangers because of this forum (thanks you again) I want to be safe. I care for my aging parents and they don't run very fast if ya know what I mean.

3. I have two empty 1 lb disposable mapp tanks, where and how do you dispose of them when they are empy. I have searched the net for Houston disposal and can't find anything.

I would really appreciate the help
Thanks
Carolyn
Old 2007-07-16, 3:22pm
What, Me Worry?

1. No the tank will not blow up from sun heat. The direct sun will significantly raise the tank pressure... potentially to 200-220 psig... but that is still less than 50% of the pressure needed before the safety pressure valve opens, and less than 10% of the pressure need to rupture a tank. You can't 'blow' the tanks safety pressure valve unless you build a bonfire under it ...and you can't rupture the tank because the safety pressure valve will release. A well known testing company went across the US collecting th oldest, rustiest, most beat up, hadn't been used in 50 years tanks and test the safety valves. They all worked within specified tolerance. No worries there.