Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-08-11, 1:19am

Angry Problems with tubes, and best place to buy tubes.

I bought a whole setup from a nice gentlemen on craiglist. Been melting glass for almost a month now, so I am a complete newby. The guy that I bought my redmax, jen ken, hoses, regulatores, tanks, and tools from threw in some tubes and a box full of color rods. And my god these tubes SUCK. I thought It was just me, and being a newb, and thats why EVERY thing was cracking. I took a steam roller I made, (all clear) kilned it, let it sit out for a cupple hours, then washed it out with water. Right after I finished washing it out, of course, it cracked. The tubes are really old. I dont know if that has any affect, but I really cant make anything with them cracking at one point or another. So I was wondering, What Is a good place to purchase really high quality tubes? Or what brand is really good? I dont know much of anything about glass and,I know this sounds like a such a noob question, but I really do need some help. Thank you so much.
Old 2012-08-11, 3:20am

i have the same issue with Kimbal. a whole case of that crap i have. no matter what i do, cracks appear.
i've never cracked a marble or bead (well maybe a bead) so i know it's not me. and i've made pipes out of GA hand pulled tube that came out nice and thick with no cracks.

no matter what i do with kimbal it cracks.
Old 2012-08-11, 4:12am
Run Free Sweet Boy

are you sure its boro? are you using color? if so is it cracking along the color lines? Could be compatability...

"It's not what you have, it's who you are."
Old 2012-08-11, 4:16am