Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2011-08-23, 8:51pm

Default What you make vs what you love

I really like organics and the beautiful silver glass beads that many artists here make. However when I sit down at the torch I never reach for the silver glass. I end up making tons of critters. I just started playing with Locos dragon tut and I can't stop making dragons. I love it. So I was just wondering if anyone else felt the same way. Maybe this is just a stage in my development as a glass artist or maybe I will branch out more as I get better.

Caroline
Old 2011-08-23, 9:17pm

I'm a total brat and make what I love most always. It seems to vibrate around the ocean and nature. Currently making tropical bird feathers ;-D
Keep doing what you love and it will travel with as you increase your time behind the torch.
Samma

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2011-08-24, 12:05am

I do love what I make, and I enjoy the process, its just that sculptural work was not what initally attracted me to lampworking. But its now what I love to do most (so far!)
Caroline
Old 2011-08-24, 12:08am
More ideas than talent

I was attracted by sculptural work initially too but most of the beads I make I melt everything flat on. Go figure. Mind you, that could also have to do with my frustration of bits flying off as well.

Old 2011-08-24, 2:51am