Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > The Mall > Customer Service Kiosk

Customer Service Kiosk -- Questions for LE vendors.

Old 2011-03-03, 6:41am

Location: Liechtenstein (a tiny country located in Europe, next to Switzerland)
Default Tools for left handed lamp workers needed!!

Hello together,

I am a newbie regarding lampwork. I've already set um my workbench except of the ventilation.
Now I have a question. I'm left handed. I found that most of the tools are only available for right handers. Especially those brass shapers. Does anybody now a company that makes tools for lefties like me? I'm from Europe. Over here there is no company at all taking care about left handers
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2011-03-03, 8:01am
I'm kinda biz-EE

I'm left handed as well but to me lampworking tools are not like scissors (well, except the scissors
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 1 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
) and are interchangeable. I keep presses on the left side of my bench and just turn them whichever way works best for me.

By brass shaper do you mean a stump shaper? A brass paddle on a stick? I use one and I've never found the orientation of the tool to be a problem.

If you get to the point that you want a specific tool there are people here in the States who would make you one to order I'm sure.

Just speaking from my own experience if you are a newbie I wouldn't buy a lot of tools yet, just some tweezers and a flat graphite paddle. Spend your money on practice glass because it will take you at least a year (unless you are insanely gifted like some people are, I was not) to get to know the glass.

HTH!
It's good to see another glass lefty!